The release that might have been

I hope this finds you all safe and well.

In recent years, I have managed to publish a new novel in time for Christmas. This year, for various reasons, that will not be the case.

The irony is that I have been writing a festive-themed whodunnit – something most of the golden age crime writers include in their canon, and a good fictional excuse for bringing a bunch of characters together and reuniting relatives. It was also my chance to write more of a traditional country house style whodunnit than my previous 4 novels.

I think lockdown certainly hampered productivity this year. When everyone was at home 24/7 – a 5-person/5 pets household is just not as quiet. Also the bursts of creativity and inspiration seemed more periodic this year, than sustained.

That said, at 55,800 words (and counting), for its first draft, ‘As Red As Any Blood’ is well on the way – but there is more to write; loose ends to tie up; and then, of course, all the proofreading; spellchecking; and formatting before the novel can be published.

Many will recognise that the title is taken from the Christmas Carol ‘The Holly & The Ivy’.

Title decided upon, I had also started to look at covers, so include a likely candidate here to whet the appetite.

So, ‘As Red As Any Blood’ will have a huge country house; roaring fires; turkey; mince pies; eggnog; carols; snow…and murder! I will certainly have this new book out in 2021 and, if I take my time about it, maybe at the back end of the year for an Advent release.

Have a lovely Christmas all and I hope a better/more normal New Year.

Paul

Leave a comment